Black Christians Deserve Better Than Companies (And Churches) Like Relevant Media Group

Andre Henry
10 min readSep 18, 2019

They’re not against us, but not for us either. The difference between the two is clearer in the abstract.

These were angry tears. After only three months at what I’d imagined would be my dream job at the largest Christian media company serving millennials in the U.S., I’d determined, in tears, there was no way I could stay there indefinitely. I promised myself, after that meeting, I’d quit once I’d completed a year at the company.

Just a few hours before, the editorial team at RELEVANT Media Group gathered in the bullpen for our weekly content meeting.

The purpose of the content meeting is to discuss what articles will be published to the website the following week, and to collaborate on headlines. When I was hired as Managing Editor, the content schedule was dropped in my lap to fill. I was asked to present 20 new articles I’d chosen for publication at this weekly meeting.

I’d developed some mechanisms to make the task of reading, curating, and editing 80 articles per month more manageable. One of those mechanisms was to use the regular calendar to generate ideas.

I’d reached out to indigenous Christians to write for “Native American Heritage Month” in November, to therapists and counselors to…

--

--

Andre Henry

Best-selling author, award-winning musician, and activist writing about resilience and revolution.